Elkhart Juried Regional



 The Midwest Museum of American Art is pleased to announce the 36th Elkhart Juried Regional Art Exhibition, October 10 - December 7, 2014. This all-media competition is open to artists 18 years and older who are residents of Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaGrange, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben or Whitley counties in Indiana and Berrien, Branch, Cass, or St. Joseph counties in Michigan. Each entrant may submit one (1) or two (2) works which must be original in concept and execution, created within the last two (2) years, not completed under instruction and not previously exhibited at the Midwest Museum or any other competition within the region.

ENTRY FEE: $25.00 entitles entrant to submit one entry.  $40 for  two entries.  Entry fee is non-refundable. Limit  up to (2) works.

ENTRIES DUE: All works must be hand delivered September 13 through September 27 during special museum hours: Mon.-Fri., 9:00AM - 5:00PM or Sat. & Sun., 1:00PM-4:00PM.

SIZE LIMITATIONS: Length or width may not exceed seven (7) feet. No work of art may exceed 100 lbs. in weight.

FRAMING & PRESENTATION: All entries must be prepared for installation. Two-dimensional work must be framed and wired for hanging. Three-dimensional work  should be self-supporting or be able to be placed on a pedestal. No installation pieces accepted. No works will be accepted that require the artist present for installation.

PICK-UP of  ACCEPTED and NOT ACCEPTED WORKS: Non-accepted work must be picked-up September 30 through October 5 during regular museum hours, Tues.-Fri., 10:00AM to 4:00PM, or Sat. & Sun., 1:00PM-4:00PM

Accepted works must remain for the duration of the exhibition and may then be picked up December 9 through December 30, 2014. All work not claimed by January  4, 2015 will then automatically be considered the property of the Midwest Museum of American Art to dispose of in any way it sees fit.

HOLD HARMLESS CLAUSE: The greatest care will be taken in the handling of all entries, however the MMAA disclaims any liability for loss or damage in connection with the 35th Elkhart Juried Regional. 

SALE OF WORK: Unless otherwise indicated by the artist, all work is for sale. A commission of 25% on work sold is payable to the Midwest Museum. There is no commission fee on Purchase Awards.

AWARDS RECEPTION: All submitting artists, friends and museum members are invited to attend an Awards Reception on Friday evening, October 10, from 7:00-9:00 PM.

JURORS: The distinguished jurors for the exhibition will be Rachel Perry, Curator of Art Emeritus, Indiana State Museum, and Dr. Steve Conant, Collector & Artist, Indianapolis, IN.

For the PDF file of the prospectus, please click here.

This exhibition is sponsored by the Elkhart County Conventions & Visitors Bureau.

Over $25,000 in cash prizes!

2014 Calendar- IMPORTANT DATES

September 13 thru September 27- Entries to be hand delivered to the Midwest Museum

September 28- Judging

September 29- Notifications mailed

September 30 thru October 5- Non-accepted works to be picked up

October 10- opening Awards Reception 7:00-9:00 PM

December 7- exhibition closes

December 9 thru December 30- Accepted works to be picked up (any artwork not picked up by January 4, 2015 becomes MMAA property)